© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

6/16/2014 8:18 P.M. ET

Big Papi needs late push in All-Star balloting

Sox slugger second among DHs; Pedroia, Pierzynski also in running

BOSTON -- With 1,316,921 votes, David Ortiz is second to Baltimore's Nelson Cruz by about 450,000 votes as they battle for a spot as the American League's designated hitter in the 2014 All-Star Game. Dustin Pedroia sits third among AL second basemen, about 500,000 votes behind leader Robinson Cano of Seattle and just over 100,000 shy of Detroit's Ian Kinsler.

Entering Monday's game against the Twins, Ortiz was batting .249 with 15 home runs and 42 RBIs in 2014. Ortiz has been an All-Star in each of the last four seasons and nine of the last 10. Although trailing Cruz, he's edging out Victor Martinez of Detroit by about 215,000 votes and Toronto's Edwin Encarnacion by more than 265,000.

Pedroia, a four-time All Star and a 2013 selection, has posted a .264 average and .713 OPS this season. He's hit three homers, driven in 24 runs and scored 39 himself. He has 1,008,809 votes and sits ahead of Brian Dozier and Jose Altuve.

A.J. Pierzynski is fourth among AL catchers with 641,098 votes. Leader Matt Weiters will have season-ending Tommy John surgery, and Pierzynski trails New York's Brian McCann and Oakland's Derek Norris by more than 400,000 votes. Boston's catcher is hitting .269 with a .689 OPS this season. He's twice been an All-Star, with Minnesota in 2002 and with the White Sox in '06.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at MLB.com and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your MLB.com account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an MLB.com account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free MLB.com account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on MLB.com. Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at MLB.com via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com.

Steven Petrella is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.