© 2013 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/29/2013 6:31 P.M. ET

Red Sox to honor former manager Joe Morgan at Fenway Park tomorrow to celebrate the 25th anniversary of 'Morgan Magic'

Roger Clemens, Mike Smithson, Tom Bolton, Lee Smith, Dwight Evans, Dennis "Oil Can" Boyd, and Spike Owen expected at ceremony

BOSTON, MA - The Boston Red Sox will honor former manager Joe Morgan before tomorrow night's game to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of "Morgan Magic," a remarkable streak in 1988 that began after Morgan became manager of the club. The club went on to win the American League East, and it would do so again in 1990.

After General Manager Lou Gorman appointed Morgan on July 14, 1988 to replace John McNamara, the Red Sox won 12 in a row, 19 of 20, and a stunning 19 straight at Fenway Park. 

Morgan, a Walpole, MA native, will throw out the Ceremonial First Pitch to conclude the pregame ceremony. In addition to Morgan, seven members of the 1988 American League East title team are expected to attend, including Roger Clemens, Mike Smithson, Tom Bolton, Lee Smith, Dwight Evans, Dennis "Oil Can" Boyd, and Spike Owen.

The winning streak started July 15 and continued through July 25 before a loss at Texas July 26. The club won 19 of 20 through August 3 before losing at Detroit August 4. At Fenway Park, the Red Sox won every game through August 13 before losing to the Tigers August 14. Having won five straight at home before McNamara was dismissed, the home winning streak was actually 24 games. The Oakland A's swept the Red Sox in the American League Championship Series to win the pennant before losing the World Series to the Los Angeles Dodgers.

At the conclusion of the 1988 season, Morgan was named the A.L. Manager of the Year by U.P.I., and runner-up to Tony LaRussa by the Baseball Writers.

Tomorrow's game against the Seattle Mariners starts at 7:10 p.m. Ceremonies are expected to begin at approximately 6:45 p.m. A limited number of tickets are still available.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.