© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

12/04/07 3:00 PM ET

Coleman named Frick Award finalist

Legendary Red Sox broadcaster one of 10 names in running

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Ken Coleman, the legendary late broadcaster of the Boston Red Sox, has been selected as one of 10 finalists for the 2008 Ford C. Frick Award, which recognizes excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Long before the Red Sox, fresh off their second World Series championship in four seasons, started making their run at being the team of the new millennium, they were defined by their voices.

Those voices echoed through New England summers, keeping everyone up to speed on the daily nine innings of the Old Towne team.

Among the most prominent was Coleman, who was the voice of the Impossible Dream Red Sox of 1967.

While the Red Sox had a season-long celebration of the "Impossible Dream" team, Coleman's voice was constantly replayed with some of the great highlights of that unforgettable summer. To avid Red Sox fans, those highlights never grow old.

For 20 years (1966-74 and 78-89), Coleman, the pride of Quincy, Mass., was the voice of his hometown Boston Red Sox. And that was just part of a distinguished broadcasting career that makes Coleman a strong contender for Frick Award.

Coleman is joined on the Top 10 by Joe Nuxhall, Bill King, Joe Morgan, Dizzy Dean, Tom Cheek, Tony Kubek, Dave Niehaus, Dave Van Horne and Graham McNamee.

Nuxhall, King and Morgan were selected to the final 10 by fans in an exclusive online vote at baseballhall.org and MLB.com throughout November. The other seven were named by the Frick nominating committee. Here are the numbers on the fan voting, total votes cast: 122,505.

The Ford C. Frick Award is presented annually at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball." The award, named after the late broadcaster, National League President, Commissioner and Hall of Famer, has been presented annually since 1978. Frick was a driving force behind the creation of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown and he helped foster the relationship between radio and the game of baseball. Results of the 2008 election, to be determined by the Frick election committee, will be announced on Feb. 19. The 2007 recipient was longtime Royals broadcaster Denny Matthews.

Before going home to become the voice of the Sox, Coleman called every touchdown scored by NFL legend Jim Brown.

In all, Coleman spent 35 years as a Major League broadcaster, also calling games for the Indians (1954-63) and Reds (1975-78).

Coleman died in the summer of 2003.

Ian Browne is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.