To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

06/20/2006 4:02 PM ET
Red Sox to honor 1986 American League Championship on Tuesday, June 27 prior to series opener with Mets
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
BOSTON -- The Red Sox today announced that the club will honor Boston's 1986 American League Championship team on Tuesday, June 27, when the Sox host the New York Mets at 7:05 p.m. at Fenway Park.

Players and coaches from the 1986 squad will be honored in a pre-game ceremony prior to the Red Sox-Mets game that night. Many of the members of that team will arrive in Boston on Monday and will participate in several other activities as part of the celebration of the 1986 A.L. champs.

Invitations have been sent to all players and coaches that were members of the 1986 team at any point during the regular and/or post-season. Among those who have indicated they will tentatively participate are pitchers Dennis "Oil Can" Boyd, Steve Crawford, Bruce Hurst, Tim Lollar, Al Nipper, and Joe Sambito; catcher Marc Sullivan, infielders Marty Barrett, Wade Boggs, Pat Dodson, Spike Owen, Ed Romero, and Dave Stapleton; outfielders Dwight Evans, Jim Rice, Mike Stenhouse, and LaSchelle Tarver; and coaches Walt Hriniak and Joe Morgan.

Additions to this list will be announced as they are received.

The 1986 Red Sox won the American League East Division with a 96-66 record. Boston then rallied from a 3-1 deficit to win an exciting seven-game American League Championship Series from the California Angels. The World Series also went seven games with the Mets winning the final two games at Shea Stadium to capture their second title.

Barrett, Boggs, and Hurst will also be among the participants in the Pawtucket Red Sox' 25th Anniversary Celebration of the longest game in major league history, which will take place this Friday, June 23 at McCoy Stadium. On June 23, 1981, the PawSox and Rochester Red Wings completed a 33-inning game that began on April 18 and was suspended after 32 innings tied at 2-2. Pawtucket would win the game, 3-2.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page